ERITREA Breaking News

Warning to anyone who still has red passport over access to 120 countries

Holidaymakersm, tourists and anyone planning to travel this summer has been urged to check their passports before they set off as even documents that appear in date may not be valid at your destination.

Many countries require you to have six months left on your passport when you travel, meaning that even if it has not yet technically expired, you may be banned from travelling. Other countries have similar rules requiring anying from 45 days to three months remaining.

According to VisaGuide.World there are 70 countries that have a six month passport rule, another 41 apply a three-month passport validity rule, and others can require you to have at least 45 days.

Even if your country destination is not on the list, the UK Government recommends you have at least 10 days left on your passport if you want to travel, and for most European countries – including Spain, France and Greece, HM Passport Office recommend that the passport expiry date is at least three months after intended day of departure from EU.

That means that regardless of any rules in your destination country, your airline may refuse to take you. Forth north Cyprus the rule is six months.

This rule is especially important if you still have a red passport, which are no longer being issued after the country left the EU meaning all red passports are due to expire, reports The Echo.

These are the countries with passport validity rules…

70 countries that have a six-month passport rule:

Afghanistan, Indonesia, Samoa, Algeria, Iran, Saudi Arabia, Anguilla, Iraq, Singapore, Bahrain, Israel, Solomon Islands, Bhutan, Jordan, Somalia, Botswana, Kenya, Somaliland, British Virgin Islands, Kiribati, Sri Lanka, Brunei, Laos, Sudan, Cambodia, Madagascar, Suriname, Cameroon, Malaysia, Taiwan, Cayman Islands, Marshall Islands, Tanzania, Central African Republic, Micronesia, Thailand, Chad, Myanmar, Timor-Leste, Comoros, Namibia, Tokelau, Côte D’Ivoire, Nicaragua, Tonga, Curacao, Nigeria, Tuvalu, Ecuador, Oman, Uganda, Egypt, Palau, United Arab Emirates, El Salvador, Papua New Guinea, Vanuatu, Equatorial Guinea, Philippines, Venezuela, Fiji, Qatar, Vietnam, Gabon, Rwanda, Yemen, Guinea Bissau, Saint Lucia, Zimbabwe, and Guyana.

41 countries that have a three-month passport rule:

Albania, Lithuania, Austria, Luxembourg, Azerbaijan, Malta, Belarus, Moldova, Belgium, Monaco, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Czechia, Nauru, Estonia, Netherlands, Finland, New Zealand, France, North Macedonia, Georgia, Norway, Germany, Panama, Greece, Poland, Honduras, Portugal, Iceland, Senegal, Italy, Slovakia, Jordan, Slovenia, Kuwait, Spain, Latvia, Sweden, Lebanon, Switzerland, and Liechtenstein.

Countries with other validity rules:

Bermuda- 45 days upon entry, Eritrea- three months on arrival, Hong Kong- three months on arrival, Lebanon- three months on arrival, Macau- three months on arrival, Micronesia- four months on arrival, South Africa- three months on arrival, The Maldives- three months on arrival, and Zambia- four months on arrival.

Source link