ERITREA Breaking News

The countries anyone in the UK who still uses a red passport may not be able to travel to this summer

Brits going abroad this summer may find themselves turned away at border control. Passport validity rules often catch out tourists as many destinations require three to six months of validity on your passport.

This means if your passport expires in January 2024, you may not be able to travel from July 2023. This rule is especially important if you still have an old red passport, which is no longer issued since Brexit.

READ MORE: The UK’s best beach has been named and it’s close enough to London for a weekend away

This means all red passports are due to expire in the coming years. While thousands of people are still able to use their red passports if they’re in date, you must check its expiry date, reports Liverpool Echo.

According to VisaGuide.World there are 70 countries that have a six-month passport rule, while another 41 apply the three-month passport validity rule.

The countries that have a six-month or three-month passport rule

All red passports are due to expire in the coming years

The 70 countries that have a six-month passport rule are:

Most of these countries are across Asia, Africa, the Middle East and South America.

Afghanistan, Indonesia, Samoa, Algeria, Iran, Saudi Arabia, Anguilla, Iraq, Singapore, Bahrain, Israel, Solomon Islands, Bhutan, Jordan, Somalia, Botswana, Kenya, Somaliland, British Virgin Islands, Kiribati, Sri Lanka, Brunei, Laos, Sudan, Cambodia, Madagascar, Suriname, Cameroon, Malaysia, Taiwan, Cayman Islands, Marshall Islands, Tanzania, Central African Republic, Micronesia, Thailand, Chad, Myanmar, Timor-Leste, Comoros, Namibia, Tokelau, Côte D’Ivoire, Nicaragua, Tonga, Curacao, Nigeria, Tuvalu, Ecuador, Oman, Uganda, Egypt, Palau, United Arab Emirates, El Salvador, Papua New Guinea, Vanuatu, Equatorial Guinea, Philippines, Venezuela, Fiji, Qatar, Vietnam, Gabon, Rwanda, Yemen, Guinea Bissau, Saint Lucia, Zimbabwe, and Guyana.

The 41 countries that have a three-month passport rule:

Most of these countries are across Europe, with some in Oceania, South America and the Middle East.

Albania, Lithuania, Austria, Luxembourg, Azerbaijan, Malta, Belarus, Moldova, Belgium, Monaco, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Czechia, Nauru, Estonia, Netherlands, Finland, New Zealand, France, North Macedonia, Georgia, Norway, Germany, Panama, Greece, Poland, Honduras, Portugal, Iceland, Senegal, Italy, Slovakia, Jordan, Slovenia, Kuwait, Spain, Latvia, Sweden, Lebanon, Switzerland, and Liechtenstein.

Passengers heading for their flight in an airport
Passport validity rules often catch out tourists

Countries with other validity rules:

  • Bermuda: 45 days
  • Eritrea: three months
  • Hong Kong: three months
  • Lebanon: three months
  • Macau: three months
  • Micronesia: four months
  • South Africa: three months
  • The Maldives: three months
  • Zambia: four months on arrival

Don’t miss out on the biggest stories from across the city. Sign up to MyLondon’s The 12 HERE for the 12 biggest stories each day.

Source link